top of page

Just around the corner


Well it’s been a little while since I wrote my last blog, and to be honest I have no idea where the time has gone! It’s been a hectic few months, and all of a sudden I am 1 day away from my baby's due date. It feels so surreal to think that any day now I will be a new Mum. I have had the best pregnancy I could have ever hoped for, everything has been absolutely fine with regards to my baby’s health and also my own health. Having recovered fully from M.E/CFS a few years ago, I have never felt better - and they do say that pregnancy can definitely be such a positive for women’s health in general. Of course I did suffer from the dreaded morning sickness in the first few months! However thanks to Dr Ben Matthew at Cardiff Bay Chiropractic, physically, I have been on top form - no backache, or general body aches what so ever!

The last week or two, I feel my body has really changed, it’s a little more difficult to get around, can't walk too far, however I am still able to practice my harp for around 90 min or so every day. I have been so pleased about that, as many say it's difficult to play in late pregnancy. I feel excited to be rehearsing repertoire now for when I return to performing in April/ May 2017. I'm certainly making the most of it before those sleepless nights come along!

I’m very happy to say that my first engagement post birth will be my harp course in April, where we have 30 very enthusiastic, talented and wonderful students joining us for a week in the splendid surroundings of Cardigan Castle. It is a very positive, friendly environment where young artists flourish and enjoy music making together. We have lots of new repertoire arranged by Chris Marshall for ensembles of all standards including themes such as ET, Jurassic Park, , Ice Dance (from Edwards Scissorhands), and a few popular favourites such as Bruno Mars' Uptown Funk! The harpists are already busy rehearsing their parts and we will present a 90 minute concert with multimedia, lighting and full production on April 15th at 2pm Theatre Mwldan, Cardigan. Please come along and support these talented young players if you can!

In May, my husband Chris Marshall and I will begin our concert schedule for the summer, starting with ‘Journey’ the show on the 6th of May at the Blake Theatre, Monmouth. I’m so thrilled to say that we will be proudly showcasing bright young instrumental talent from the Gwent Music Service in this show - it’s a must see! On May 7th we return to the gorgeous Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury with our C2 duet percussion and harp show - ‘Hands of Fire’. For those of you who haven’t seen this show, please have a look on the link on the C2 page on this site, it’s a very unique and different production suitable for the whole family. We will also be featuring talented students from the ‘Harpeggieren Ensemble’, tutored by Stephanie Roberts-Moseley, in this show.

A few days later, Chris and I head to the USA for a concert tour 11 - 19th May, details are on the diary page. We always love returning to the US and I'm thrilled this time to be launching my first international branch of the Claire Jones Harp School in Pittsburgh USA. If you are a harpist in the Pittsburgh area, and would like more information on how to attend the harp school on May13th please contact us on our email address info@marshalljonesmusic.co.uk. We are also excited to be performing and recording with the American Youth Harp Ensemble during our visit in Richmond VA with a join concert on May 18th. We are currently collaborating on our first official project together which will be announced soon!

June and July has a lot of interesting performances in store including ‘An Evening with Claire Jones’ at St Davids Cathedral Festival. There will be more tour dates with the C2 Duet ‘Hands of Fire’ show, and I look forward to returning to Llangollen International Eisteddfod as official adjudicator for the Young Musician competition. This year I return together with my husband Chris Marshall who we will be adjudicating the International Ensemble competition also.

In August, we look forward to welcoming the American Youth Harp Ensemble and their renowned director Lynnelle Ediger to the UK! They will be bringing their official choir and chamber group with them as well as their families! Chris and I will be performing with the American Youth Harp Ensemble, choir and chamber group at Southwark Cathedral, Winchester Cathedral, St Davids Cathedral, and Cardigan Castle Wales.(For more information please visit the diary page). Members from the Claire Jones International Harp School Summer Course 2017 will also be special guest performers and will collaborate with the American musicians during their stay in Wales. This will be a hugely exciting project, and will lead to the Claire Jones Harp School touring in the USA in the Summer of 2018.

So, this year is going to be a big year for both myself and my husband on a personal and professional level. We are blessed to be starting a new chapter as parents, and are thrilled to have so many exciting musical projects on the horizon. To celebrate this year of love, positivity and happiness I will be releasing a new album called ‘This Love’. As you may know I am proud to be an ambassador for the international jewellery company Clogau, and am so pleased to be collaborating with them and Silva Screen Records on this CD release. More details to follow on the release date - watch this space!

Thank you to all who have sent their good wishes to us over this time,

With love

Claire x


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page